Composition of the European Parliament in the 2014-2019 term

Katarzyna Cegiełka


Currently, representatives of 28 countries form the European Parliament. Their populations are characterized by a large disparity which leads to the need to seek methods of allocating the seats which are not based on proportional methods. They should have fulfilled the conditions of degressive proportionality by 2009. Although scientists have so far offered various solutions in line with the assumptions, MEPs did not take any of them. Furthermore, they changed the interpretation of the new rule in subsequent terms of office. At the same time, they have not determined a composition of the European Parliament which meets the conditions of degressive proportionality. In the paper, the author presents the degressive proportionality principle and analyzes the composition of the European Parliament in 2014-2019 term proposed by MEPs
Author Katarzyna Cegiełka (MISaF / IZM / KMiC)
Katarzyna Cegiełka,,
- Katedra Matematyki i Cybernetyki
Journal seriesDidactics of Mathematics, ISSN 1733-7941, (B 7 pkt)
Issue year2012
No9 (13)
Publication size in sheets0.5
Keywords in EnglishEuropean Union, European Parliament, degressive proportionality, fair division, indivisible goods
Languageen angielski
Cegielka_Composition_of_the_European_Parliament2012.pdf 600,28 KB
Score (nominal)7
Score sourcejournalList
Citation count*
Share Share

Get link to the record

* presented citation count is obtained through Internet information analysis and it is close to the number calculated by the Publish or Perish system.